Rare Union

Rare Union

United States


Rare Union
The start of Rare Union began in 2019. It started with LA Smith from New York, percussionist.
LA Smith had been wanting to produce a CD, with a lot of percussion. To pass percussion on to kids all over the world. After completing a national tour with The Randy Oxford Band in 2014, LA decided to play at festivals with headliners, and do percussion workshops, passing on 12 sets of bongos at each workshop to low-income kids all over the western hemisphere.
At the same time, Martin Cage lead guitarist from Nemesis, was looking to put some of his original compositions into a CD. LA Smith now out of Columbia MO, and Martin Cage out of Salt Lake UT, decided to get together, and see what would happen.
They went into El Centro studio in Columbia, Missouri and start recording. They added Jerry Russo, a local rhythm drummer and the three of them put together first six songs.
Then the pandemic hit, and it was a challenge to bring any artists in to the studio. The studio added UV lighting, and slowly they started to work on the CD. Martin Cage had played with vocalist, guitar player, Max Soler from FT Myers, in the group Nemesis. So, when they called Max he was ready to go. They had Will Reeves on bass and Danny Carrol on drums, both from Columbia, MO. They played together in several groups.
The songs started to get real heart felt lyrics, guitar breaks and solos that bring out the original sound that Rare Union turned out to be. They did not go into the studio trying to produce a particular sound, just wanted to make good music. What happened was chemistry, with five artists, with all different backgrounds, from 5 different states playing together. As the songs Martin had composed evolved and began to take shape, Max would add lyrics, guitar. Both Martin Cage and Max Soler would switch off on lead and rhythm. LA Smith and Danny Carroll would build the structure of the songs and decide how to incorporate the drums and percussion. Will Reeves did the bass lines and engineered the CD. They ended up with a new blues rock sound.
The addition of Micael Kott on Cello, from Santa Fe NM, was added. His recording was done at Frogville Studios in Santa Fe, NM. Michael Kott plays cello all over the world with Peter Buffet. His cello is on “Won’t Be Lost” and “Brother of Mine”.
With the CD getting produced, and final vocals getting finished the band needed a name. That’s where Dawn Smith suggested Rare Union. It described this band, born in a pandemic, from five states, with all new original music. Dawn set up all the production of the CD, web site, Domain, copywrite and trademarks.
Naming the CD was easy, Max Soler and Martin Cage had a friend who passed, and he was considered a brother. So, the band named the CD, “Brother of Mine”.
Rare unions first CD brother of Mine in 2022, ended up in the top 100 RMR Blues Rock charts. We are rereleasing it in honor of Max Soler who passed away in 2023.
Enjoy the tunes !!
Read More
Available for airplay now
Login with your radio station account to download tracks from this artist.
Or sign up for free.

Brother of Mine

  • 1. Mainline
  • 2. Bring It On
  • 3. Won't Be Lost
  • 4. Gone Away
  • 5. Give You All
  • 6. Far Away
  • 7. Tale of A Good Man
  • 8. Studio Man
  • 9. Freedom Town
  • 10. Hold On
  • 11. Ain't Going Down
  • 12. Brother of Mine

Times They Always Change

  • 1. Blues Be Strong
  • 2. I Know You Lied
  • 3. So Fly
  • 4. Times They Always Change
  • 5. One Move
  • 6. Stone Strong
  • 7. Light Strands
  • 8. Forevermore
  • 9. Highways
  • 10. Truth Seeker
  • 11. Slaves to No One
  • 12. Come with Me